What Happened To Me?


I could never been lazier or should I say uninspired to write and post something new here for the past few weeks. Little you know, I’ve been working my ply-board ass for 3 weeks straight now and YES! I’m longing for my regular weekend off. Finally, this week I will have it!

Last few weeks I felt that everything seems to be dull and insipid until something really interesting happened to me last week that I wanted to share. It’s something about an interview for a position that I applied for.

Few months back, I applied for a training position and I was scheduled for an interview. To be honest, the day when I was scheduled for interview I was quite hesitant to pursue and go. To the last minute, I was thinking to send an email to cancel my scheduled interview but I just decided to proceed with respect to people made the schedule and most especially the interviewer who was expecting me.

The interview lasted for 30 minutes and obviously I cannot recall all conversation that had been transpired. So, I will just share some parts that I believe quite interesting.

 

1. As the interviewer scanned my resume and noticed that most of my background is IT related. The position I was applying for was related to partly teaching Financial and Accounting. (Don’t get me wrong I had a background teaching and quite frankly I enjoyed it and its not about Fin&Acct only). You may ask? How’s this first one interesting? That fact that I applied for teaching Finance and Accounting (which I wasn’t initially aware) yet I still pursue the interview!
 
2. By this time, the interviewer was already aware that majority of my experiences are IT related, he asked me if I’m quite comfortable to go outside my comfort zone and venture to this position? And my award winning response – I said… blah blah blah and mentioned a quote from The Great Einstein.

A ship is always safe at the shore – but that is NOT what it is built for.

BOOM! Interviewer said – “Very good answer and very well said!” (Lol, not even original but sure! I think it’s really a good quote.)

 
3. After several question and answer portion, he asked me a very compelling question that changed everything as where we see the interview will be heading. He asked me this – How do you really feel about this interview and the position? Here is my reaction and response…

(Sighed for a minute and grinned and had a slight laughed) I said…you know what, thank you very much for asking me that question. That is a very good question. I will be honest and just put everything on the table here. To be honest, I was really quite hesitant to pursue with this interview. I was actually thinking to email you and ask to cancel the interview but with respect to your time and effort including the person who set up and scheduled our interview…I just decided to pursue and just go with it since its too late to do that now. But again, with my utmost respect, I meant everything I’ve previously said, if you feel that the position is for me I will be glad to accept or go to the next process. But, I believe there are still some applicants who are more deserving than me and really wants it bad.

At this point of the interview, he was stunned which was completed understandable.

 
4. Before the interview concluded, he told me that he really appreciated the honesty and told me as well that they will still let me know if I will make it to the second part of the interview which is demo teaching. The interview also added that my response and the later part of the interview were quite unexpected. He told me that, it was a nice interview although they still have 6 or 7 people to be considering in the position and they will give it whoever really wants it bad or deserves it. (This part gave me the impression that I will never be considered anymore which was fine. Because saying what I’ve said made me believed that the interviewer had the impression that I’m not interested anymore which was partly true.)

 
Here’s the weird and interesting part of the story.

After few days, I received an email and invitation from the interviewer…(At least something like this)

Congratulations! You have been selected for the second part of the interview for training position which will be Demo Teaching…blah blah blah.

My response…rejected the invitation, slightly laughed and completely amazed and wondered how in the universe I received this response. (Lol)

I realized that position is not for me. Although, I really enjoyed teaching but I believe not like this. Anyways, to make it short, there is something with it that doesn’t feel right for me.

Now, why its interesting to share? Here…I just thought that despite the honestly of what I’ve said, saying indirectly that somehow I’m not interested anymore and not really wanting it badly compared to the other applicants who applied for the same position YET they still sent me this email and considered me for the position. Hmmm, Psychology eh?

 

ON THE SIDE NOTE, here are few things I’ve been doing or will be doing:

1. I bought a Guitar! I will try to bring back my artistic side and play again. Also, I will teach my younger brother. (I believe, kids who can play instruments are more smarter than ones who only play video games)

2. I signed up in our company’s initiatives to have a work-life balance lifestyle. What I signed up for? Hmm,, nothing much really just Yoga, Bikram Yoga, Swimming and Volleyball. ( Nothing much really! And I really like to learn Yoga and not because of Chicks. *the moves!* Lol)

3. I’ve been thinking to start a new blog but not yet finalized. Maybe a little more push and I might start it. (Something that everyone can relate to. That’s a hint *wink*)

4. All my favorite series are now back online(HIMYM, Modern Family, New Girl and The Office). Something I could watch!

5. I’m also enjoying reading a newly found book titled – Michael Vey: The Prisoner of Cell 25

 

Have a great weekend and enjoy life! (Look who’s talking?!)

 

Approved by:

Insipid :)


15 thoughts on “What Happened To Me?

  1. Haha. That’s a nice quote indeed!
    Well, thanks for sharing this post!
    Aside for the interesting interview, I turned green in envy! Wow naman, may ganun sa company nyo? That’s great. I mean Yoga and what?! Swimming?! Wow. That’s great!
    And the guitar! Ow, that’s nice. Sayang naman din kasi if you could really play. If you dont use it, youll lose it sabi nga nila.
    Have a happy life as well. :)

    • Yes! I really like that quote and its proves that Einstein is more than a genius! Yes, a company that doing effort to balance their employee’s life and work balance is a keeper…not to mentioned that 13th month I’m very much looking forward to. So, I guess I will still be here till next year. Lol

      Guitar is a good instrument to start with if you are interested to learn to play but what I really like to learn is Piano but sadly don’t have one and too expensive to have one but for sure someday though…I will have one. Play again!

      Finally, I really appreciate the comment and like. Ditto. :)

      • Masend nga tong blog mo sa boss ko. Hehehehe.

        I used to play the guitar back in high-school. Ngayon, wala na. Yung basic na A to G nalang alm ko. haha. Yeah, Piano. Go sagow parin in the future king makabili ka. It is never too late naman e. :)

        Have a great weekend! :)

        • Hahaha…I bet you will say he should be reading my blog between the lines just to see if he will do something about your hidden intention for sharing it. Lol

          Same to you have a great weekend. For me, I will be a bear this weekend. Lol

          • Hahahahaha. While giving the link, I’ll also bring a yoga mat. Nyaha.
            Bearing the weekend. Haha. Well, still, have an awesome bearing1 Lol. (That’s an overkill. Sorry. Haha) Bye for now Sir and see you around the blosgosphere!

  2. so I’ve about a thousand thoughts on this post but I’m too lazy to to translate it into words so I’ll just comment about the 4th and 5th side notes.
    Yayyyy, ikr. all our favorite tv series premiered this Sep/Oct! now, we’ll have to go through a week’s hell to wait for new episodes. It’s like win/lose situation. lol
    and I hoped you enjoyed Michael Vey as much as I did. I still do not have a copy of the second book but I’m reading it as soon as I finish the book series lined up in my to-read list. If you ever did enjoy it, I suggest you read The Mysterious Benedict Society, they’re of the same genre and quite enjoyable too.
    Oooooh, I miss reading your blog!

    • First, I really appreciate your comment. Actually, I just finished Michael Vey today and yes it was AMA-ZING very witty, action packed and page turning. Whenever I got a chance, I will look for the 2nd book…I’m quite excited to start reading it again and find out what happened to the characters. Also, I’ve read that this book will be in 5/6 series. (Wow! that’s a lot and might be longest book I will ever read if that’s true!)

      Second, I already have the Mysterious Benedict, I already read few chapters but somehow stopped. I would recommend for you to read the first book. This is the prequel to all Nich’s series which is The Extraordinary Education of Nicholas Benedict. I personally think it’s more interesting and you know how it all started. I would lend you this book but a friend of mine borrowed it and I’m not sure if she’s still going to return it. :(

      Finally, YES! all series that I watch are back and I’m enjoying watching them whenever I have chance. We should watch them together. Lol (Sumesegway ng pick up line)

      Anyways, I have a feeling that you’re quite preoccupied right now since you stopped reading. I hope you could find sometime to read again :)

      Thank you for reading my posts (WOW! A very long reply)

      • I didn’t know it had a prequel. too bad you couldn’t lend it to me, I would have preferred reading it on hard copy than on ebook! If you’re a fan of fiction like LOTR series, I have lots to recommend!
        And yes, I’ve been preoccupied the past few months as I was having my review and I didn’t have time to read. Nice to be back though. :)
        (Pick-up line was noted btw. haha)

        • To be honest, I just read anything that seems interesting to me. I have and bought some books that I thought interesting and after few pages they end up in my shelves (Don’t get me wrong, I believe buying books you like even if you don’t read them is a good thing)

          I think the prequel only comes in hardbound, so not your regular price but believe me its worth it after reading it. Very good story.Anyways, since you are back…allow me to welcome you back…WELCOME BACK ANA!!! Lol

          Thank you for acknowledging my lame pick up line. :)

          BTW, enjoy the shoes ;)

  3. You are always so polite it makes me wonder whether you were born a Canadian. hahaha
    Really, only in hardbound? Now that’s gonna be a challenge to find. :/ I dont think I ever bought a book I didn’t finish reading, although there are some that i just completely forgotten about after. Nowadays I just read ebooks though, since there are lots of accessible choices on the internet and I’m too lazy to go into bookstores.

    • Lol. No, but I can admit that I’m relatively nice most of the time. Life is too precious not to be polite or nice. Lol

      Yes, I don’t see any of those book not in hardbound (in terms of paper).But, since you said that you read ebook types (nowadays) that would be a different category but still a book.

      Now, to contradict your perception to me…here’s a funny thing that I would imagine to do with you…

      If you are sitting beside me and you are reading “ebook” and I’m reading a “paperbook”; I will flip the pages and smell the scent of the paper and I will look at you. Why? Well, nothing really…just teasing you and probably will say this…Can you do this in iPad? dig that ebook! Lol

      So, still polite? hahaha (But, you know I’m kidding right?)

      • I would do the same to you, you know. hahaha ;)
        I really do prefer reading books in hard rather than soft copies, but sometimes I’m too lazy to search stores for copies of books I want which are mostly published years ago. I tried doing that with the The Belgariad and The Mallorean series which were 10 books in total published between 1982 til 1991 (really good and LONG read btw) and I only found 3 old copies in stores. So yeah, the suspense killed me and I just downloaded a soft copy of the series and read it on my ipad.
        But still, we’re on the same side!

          • Well I happened to read a sort of prequel of both series so I searched and found out about it. Most awesome fiction books were those from a decade or so ago, so I tend to prefer old ones, or “classics” they call it.
            I’m sorry I flooded your comment section about books which was not entirely but mostly unrelated to your post. hahaha Sorry! Always great having a convo with you. :)
            I do love the quote btw and I’m saving it for use in my future interviews. ;)

Leave a comment